Blog 8: Aloa at Muizenberg beach & Robben Island - Reisverslag uit Muizenberg, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu Blog 8: Aloa at Muizenberg beach & Robben Island - Reisverslag uit Muizenberg, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

Blog 8: Aloa at Muizenberg beach & Robben Island

Door: Vaitiare Jansen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Vaitiare

05 Juni 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Muizenberg

Hello guys …

I hope life has been treating you well. I'm doing fine, quite busy but luckily I'm still happy. I hope my other stories were funny and that you had a nice time reading them. I want to thank everyone who had read my stories. I've heard really nice comments and I am truly grateful. Let me start, because otherwise this blog will be too emotional. (hihihih) kidding!

Well….this weekend we went to Cape Town because we planned a tour to Robben Island and we also tried to make a reservation for surfing lessons at Muizenberg. We were in Cape Town on Friday. We went to Summerset Mall to shop. I can’t tell you what I bought, because I promised that I would try to shop less. So shhh….. Don’t tell anybody that I had been there.
By the way, Summerset Mall is one of the biggest shopping centers in Cape Town. There is another one that is bigger, but I have not been there before. But don’t panic, it’s on my to-do list. After shopping we went to the hostel. I had a quick shower because we had an appointment with the other students. The idea was to go to a tapas restaurant, somewhere in Long Street and then to Club 31. I was starving, so Tapas was a good idea. I had a nice white dress on. I was ready for dinner. The name of the restaurant is “The fork”. It’s one of the most expensive restaurants in Longstreet, but believe me, the food was really good. Now…… ‘Good’ is not good enough. It was perfect, magnificent, awesome. I really enjoyed it.

After that we went to Club 31. It was a fancy club. It was on top of the building. We had to take the elevator to go up. I was impressed by the club because the view was super nice. I could see the whole city. I stood at least 10 minutes in front of the window, because the view was incredible. After the party I was really tired, so we arranged a taxi. One tip I have for you:
“Never, but never, go to town with high heels”.

I know beauty is pain, but having fun without pain is better. So next time I will just use my sneakers.
The next day we forgot to put the alarm so when we finally got in the car it was 12 pm. We were really looking forward to surfing so we drove to Muizenberg beach. Muizenberg is the place to surf. Gosh, beside that Muizenberg beach is so pretty, Muizenberg is cool and wait I didn’t tell you about the hottest surfers?

Hahah yes yes! If you want to marry one, here is the place to be.
It is super nice but it’s also so busy. It really does not matter if you're on time or late; it’s always busy there. It was a mission impossible to find a parking place. After driving around we got one. I was really happy for that because I was ready to surf on that plank. Unfortunately we could not surf on that day. According to the surf instructor, the waves were too high. I was disappointed, but fortunately we made an appointment for the next day. We swam there and just chilled out on the beach. The water was cold, but it was great. The waves were quite high, but I found it to be really nice. After sunbathing, we wanted to go to Cape Point, but in the end we went to another beach called “Camp’s bay”. We encountered two other girls there. We swam there too, but the water was colder than the water that I put in my fridge. After several attempts, we have gone into the water. “Zzzzz” Cold, but it was great.
Other than that, the beach was more than nice. Camp’s bay is so beautiful. All the houses are so big and OMG the view is indescribable. I was in love with that place (hihih). We also saw the sunset at a restaurant on top of a shopping mall. I took a lot of pictures so you can have a look.

After the sunset and diner we walked back to our car. I forgot to tell you the trouble we put our self in when we tried to park the car in Camp’s bay. Camp's Bay was also very busy, so we drove a lot before we found a parking space. The space wasn’t big enough for our old Mazda. Carina was scared to park the car but I told her to do it. Every time we had to go forward and then a little bit backwards.
It was really funny but I'm going to tell you something, but you cannot tell anyone. We accidentally bumped into the car in front of us.( Hahahahah) Shhh, it’s a secret alright?

Ok, after the sunset and dinner we walked back to our car. The other two ladies got there first fine, because they hadn’t parked properly. We really had to laugh, but it was not fun for them. That night I slept at Lenox backpacker. I was really tired and I had to save some energy the next day.

The next day Bob, Kevin, Carina and I were in the car on our way to Muizenberg beach.
It was really busy again, but fortunately we found a parking space. Great right?~~~
If you want to surf you have to pay about 300 Rand for a lesson of 2 hours. Hereby you get a surfing suit and an instructor. I got a young blond guy. He was 18 years old and he was nice. The funny thing is that he was so short but at the same time cute. There was another man who was working at the cash register. The first thing that he told me was the following:

“Don’t forget this: the zipper of the surfing suit has to be on the back side.”

I was like, yes sure, yes I got it. Now 10 minutes later, what do you think I did? (hahahahh)

I really had a problem with putting the surfing suit on. After my fight with the surfing suit I was ready to surf. We first got surf lessons on the sand and then in the water. Surfing may seem easy but believe me, it’s not. It was so awesome to stand on a surfboard but I worked really hard for it. Falling of the surfboard wasn’t so nice but the rest was great. The waves were also big but it was awesome. I'm defiantly going to do it again.

After surfing we went to Robben Island. If you want to go to Robben Island you need to go with the boat. The trip was about 45 minutes. The weather was beautiful and the boat trip was really good. The view on the boat was also amazing. Robben Island has a very beautiful and special history. We got a tour on the island and in the jail and I saw the room of Nelson Mandela. I really learned a lot. People think that Nelson Mandela was the only person who had a struggle against “Apartheid”. That's not true; there are many people who fought with all their strength. The prison wasn’t so old; actually it was quite nice. I cannot tell you everything because my blog will be endless, but I want to say that Robben Island is really nice and if you are in Africa you have to go there.

After Robben Island we drove back to Genadendal. I was tired and I missed my home sweet home.

I hope you enjoyed my blog.

Bye bye, till next time!

Love u xoxo

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Vaitiare

My name is Vaitiare Jansen, I am 21 years and I'm studying nutrition and dietetics in the Netherlands. My moto of life is: Think Positively. Exercise Daily. Eat Healthy. Work Hard. Stay Strong. Worry Less. Dance More. Love Often and be Happy. #JustBeAloverOfLife

Actief sinds 25 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 319
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7337

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 10 December 2014

My internship in South Africa

Landen bezocht: