South Africa, Here I Come! - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu South Africa, Here I Come! - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

South Africa, Here I Come!

Door: Vaitiare Jansen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Vaitiare

24 Februari 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Genadendal

Well, I was so busy with all the preparations for my journey that I didn't even realize that I was leaving so soon. A day before my departure I was sure that I would leave without shedding a tear, but to be honest that wasn't the reality. I cried like a baby, but I’m glad that I did it. After losing the way to Schiphol and trying to find a place to park the car, I arrived at Schiphol. Carina my roommate was already there with her parents and some friends. I only had my uncle but that was enough for me; I don’t like to say goodbyes. This one was not a goodbye; it’s a ‘till the next time’. But if you are an emotional person just bring everyone. I will guarantee you that you will have a nice farewell moment.

We checked in and went to a small bar where we talk for a little bit. It was nice but I couldn't wait to go through the doors. I was ready and, believe me, when I saw the airplane my heart just skipped a beat of happiness. The only thing that wasn't so funny was actually the waiting part. I think we sat like 3 hours in the waiting room but after all I found my peace in the airplane on the way to Dubai.
We traveled about 6 hours from Holland to Dubai, then we waited for a couple of hours at the airport there. Dubai is so beautiful and the mall was full of people. Everyone was walking, shopping, taking some pictures and of course drinking or eating at the restaurants. Carina and I couldn't find a nice place to drink or eat something.
By the way, if you are going to travel then you have to stop at Dubai take some cash with you, because we only had money in our savings account so we couldn't buy anything.
I saw people walking, sleeping on the ground and some were just sitting in the waiting room like us. One bad thing was that we didn't have Wi-Fi connection at the airport. I wasn't so happy with that because I promised my family and friend that when I got there I would send them a Whats-app or a text message.
But I tried not to worry and just to enjoy my long trip.
One thing that I also want to suggest to you is to take some fresh clothes and wet towels with you. When you are traveling so much you really want to freshen up. The good thing in Dubai was that there were enough bathrooms and toilets and the most important thing was that they weren't dirty.

After waiting like 3 hours we had to check in again for the next trip. We traveled like 9 hours from Dubai to Cape Town. I slept the whole trip because I didn't feel so well, but when we were on Johannesburg I woke up. My mouth fell open when I saw how beautiful everything was .
It was so nice to see everything from above. It looked like I was walking in heaven. I took a lot of pictures and it’s possible with even a cell phone. I put some pictures below so you can look with your own eyes how nice and perfect everything was. By the way, there is a lot to do in the airplane. I watched like four films (Grown up 2, Now You See Me, The Millers and of course Romeo and Juliet). The food was excellent and the chairs were comfortable. I was really under the good impression of the service and everyone was so nice. We got every morning and in the evening a hot, wet towel so that we could freshen up. It was weird the first time but I got used to it.

When we arrived at the Cape Town airport I felt immediately at home and the weather was warm but fresh at the same time. I was sure that South Africa would be the best experience in my life and I felt like I was on Curacao. We walked to a room where we had to check our visa and we had to wait for our luggage. Everything went so fast that before we knew it we were outside taking the bus to Summerset mall in Cape Town. We were like 15 students that came at the same time. To be honest it seems like we know each other very well because everyone was open to talk and everyone was so excited about being here. The employees of the airport were so nice, too; they gave us a warm welcome.
The person who was driving was a really good tour guide. He told us a few things about the politics, economy, health, culture and lifestyle of here. I learned allot from him and I’m so thankful for his advices.

At the shopping mall we went to a store where we could buy some blankets and food. Everything is so cheap. I think we are blessed because the euro is so strong now. I think for 134 euro you can get 2000 rand. That can be good but just be carefully with your money, because you can spend more than you think. After shopping we went to Grabouw. Grabouw is like an hour from Cape Town, it was really nice there but one thing about Grabouw is that I didn't feel like I was in Africa. The students that are living there have nice and luxurious houses. But I had to admit that the view was spectacular and that the wind was blowing so hard. It was hot but cool at the same time. After being in Grabouw, we went to Genadendal.

Genadendal is a small town also next to Cape Town, but you have to drive like 2 hours. It might seem like it’s a lot, but if you see how beautiful it is there, I’m sure you just want to drive even more. We drove up the mountains and we could see the most beautiful nature ever. The sky was so intensely blue and the mountains were covered with plants and trees. And the nicest part of it all was the animals. When we arrived at Genadendal I saw donkeys, dogs, cows and horses. The people started talking to us very friendly. It was so nice to see the children; they came to us and started asking us everything.
Lizelle is the person who is responsible for us here, and we stopped at a house that wasn't so nice. She told us look girls there, that is your house.
The house was falling in pieces and the garden was filled with grass. I thought ‘ohhh no no!’
I really was praying that it was a joke. Fortunately it was (hahahahah).

Lizelle is very funny and, after all, she’s the best counselor ever. When we stopped at my house I was really happy. It’s a sweet little white house with a nice garden and we had a nice bathroom. My room is so cute, I felt just like at home. My room is very colorful and my bed is so comfortable. I’m happy and I don’t want to change it. I have some pictures of it so you can also take a look. My first day in South Africa was amazing. Why? The answer is simple.

I’m feeling at home, I got a super warm welcome and I’m already sure that when I have to leave, I will go with tears in my eyes.
South Africa is a paradise filled with nice people and culture. So I just want to invite you to read and follow me and I will guide you during my journey.

Till my next report.

Greetings from Genadendal!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Vaitiare

My name is Vaitiare Jansen, I am 21 years and I'm studying nutrition and dietetics in the Netherlands. My moto of life is: Think Positively. Exercise Daily. Eat Healthy. Work Hard. Stay Strong. Worry Less. Dance More. Love Often and be Happy. #JustBeAloverOfLife

Actief sinds 25 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 319
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7332

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 10 December 2014

My internship in South Africa

Landen bezocht: