Blog 10 My nearest treasure - Reisverslag uit Greyton, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu Blog 10 My nearest treasure - Reisverslag uit Greyton, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

Blog 10 My nearest treasure

Door: Vaitiare Jansen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Vaitiare

10 Juni 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Greyton

Hello everyone,

Is everything ok?

This time I want to write something about Greyton, a small village 5 km from Genadendal. Time goes by really fast here. I've been living in Genadendal for four months now. Whewwwwwww, it’s a lot right?
I’m still having fun and believe me I don’t want to leave, but unfortunately I have no other choice.

Greyton is my treasure, because we don’t have any restaurants in Genadendal. I go to Greyton more than 3 times a week, because my Gym is there, and when I don’t have electricity Greyton is my salvation. The restaurants are also fancy. The atmosphere is so cozy, and the people who work at the restaurants are super nice. One time I was with three other girls for our Ladies night. We decided to go to a restaurant because there was live music on that night.

There was a nice young man who had served us that night. His name is Justin. He was really sweet. He sung two songs for me. The first one was "babe babe" of Justin Bieber and "just the way you are" of Bruno Mars. Believe me, women are treated very well here in South Africa.

Aside from the nice restaurants, the nature is so pure and nice. Greyton has a nature reserve where you can walk and hike. I've been there twice and each time was great. Another nice side of Greyton is that you have nice areas where you can walk or run in. We go at least twice a week there to run. I can enjoy the beautiful views and nature during my training. How great is that? Sporting and enjoying what you are doing!

Greyton also has an old-fashioned Cinema. The cinema does not have a big screen and comfortable cinema chairs, but the idea is fun and wonderful. We watched “Twelve Years of Slavery”. It’s a nice movie. I was really impressed and angry at the same time. After that film I realized that slavery still remains a sensitive issue for me. I can’t understand why people can’t treat others good. I can’t understand how the blacks were judged by their skin color. I was angry for a whole week after that film. It’s a sad part of the history, but I really want to focus on the future. I want to focus on an equal future where everyone respects one another. That would be nice, right?

Besides eating, walking and having fun, there are also great stores to shop.

Finally, the less pleasant side of Greyton is that only old people live there. Sometimes I do miss the social contact with people of my age, but I don’t care because I'm really glad that we are so close to Greyton. I put some pictures below for you so enjoy it.

Hope that my story was nice and funny again.

Take care

Xoxo

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Vaitiare

My name is Vaitiare Jansen, I am 21 years and I'm studying nutrition and dietetics in the Netherlands. My moto of life is: Think Positively. Exercise Daily. Eat Healthy. Work Hard. Stay Strong. Worry Less. Dance More. Love Often and be Happy. #JustBeAloverOfLife

Actief sinds 25 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 301
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7330

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 10 December 2014

My internship in South Africa

Landen bezocht: