Wild Nights in Cape Town - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu Wild Nights in Cape Town - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

Wild Nights in Cape Town

Door: Vaitiare Jansen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Vaitiare

23 Maart 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

Hi hi guys!….
I’m back with new experiences that I really want to share with you. Like I promised, here is a short summary of my wild nights in Cape Town.

We were in Cape Town almost the entire weekend. As always, our car was filled with handbags, and everyone was so excited to see Cape Town again. Our hostel is so nice and funny. If you are looking for a nice hostel , “Lenox Backpacker ” is the place to be. You can easily make friends from all over the world, and everyone is super friendly. You can cook for yourself and there is also a place where everyone can chill together. And wait… ! Rooms and bathrooms are always clean. And hello, there's Wi-Fi hot spot.

So what are you waiting for??? Just book your ticket and come visit us!

Another benefit of Lennox is that you can walk to Long Street. Long Street is one of the most famous streets in Cape Town. This street is full of bars and nice restaurants. In the evening hours, Long Street is alive. People stay up all night just to party and to have fun. I was surprised by the open times of Mc Donalds. Believe me, if you want a hamburger at six o’clock (am), you can easily buy one. A good thing about having fun in Long Street is that you don’t have to go with your car.
You can easily arrange a taxi, and believe me, the taxi's are accessible throughout the day.

There were also not nice things that have happened during my trip to Long Street.
Do note that if you want to go out, you should never take your bag with you. Leave your phone, bag and expensive devices at your hostel. Some of the students lost money and phones, so just be careful with your personal stuff. Stealing is a survival method of poor people, so as a tourist you just have watch out and be careful.

I'm pretty positive about South Africa, but I also want to share the less pleasant experiences. Teenagers can do anything to get a better life. During the parties I have seen several girls sell their bodies for drugs, money or for a moment of happiness. I felt so insulted. Girls of my age who drink until they became unconscious were so disgusting.
I really cannot understand why a person needs to smoke and drink alcohol in order to feel a little happy. I'm not angry or against these people, but I feel sorry for them.

Anyway, let’s talk about something nice again. If you want to enjoy the South African music, you have to dance “Cape jazz”. A few days ago I got some lessons, and believe me, it’s so easy. If you want to know what it is, just look it up on Youtube.

There are also fun activities for people who do not really like to party. A nice example is Table Mountain. Book a ticket around 16:00 pm and enjoy the sunset on Table Mountain.
It is so beautiful in the evening. I cannot describe it. It's just a paradise filled with lights.
Beside that, you can also walk through the clouds and don’t worry about food because there is also a fancy restaurant .
I took some gorgeous pictures there. I put some pictures below so you can have some examples.

One of my best nights in Cape Town was last weekend. We were invited to a
“braai” BBQ in a township. We went there a few weeks ago for the football game.
Do you remember that?

Anyway, it was so nice to dance with the children. Normally, a township can be very dangerous, especially in the evening hours. But I wasn't scared at all. I walked and danced with the kids and we ate together as a family.
I just want to tell you a funny story about that night. There was a small young man who came to me and said.

"Girl, do you want to dance with me ?”

He was like 10 years old. I laughed and just went with the flow. I liked the idea of having a mini boyfriend. (hahah) I’m kidding.

The way how children live is very remarkable. Children in South Africa live on the street. In the beginning I could not understand it, but I've asked several people about that.
First of all, mother blamed their children for their problems. They think, if my child is on the streets they can do what they want, without thinking about being mothers. Child labor is also very famous here in South Africa. Sometimes, parents let their own children be the householder.

Some things are incomprehensible and I am convinced that such things are consequences of frustrations. I hope that kids get a chance to develop well, not as an adult, but as a child.

I want to conclude with a fun experience. South African food tastes so good. There are super nice restaurants and cafes in Cape Town. Do you want something high class or home-made, I'm sure there's a place for you. Not only does Cape Town have great restaurants, if you're here in South Africa, just drop at Greyton, Celedon or Grabrielskoof. I will guarantee you that you will love these places.

Oh.. I’m totally in love with “Boboti”. Boboti is a traditional food of South Africa. It looks like lasagna, but it’s without cheese and pasta. It’s only mince and egg.

We have a group of girlfriends and we organize every Wednesday ladies night at my house. However, we made Bototi.
Oh that was so delicious! It was like Master Chef South Africa at Genadendal. ( hihhi )

I hope you've enjoyed my blog. Next blog is about my trip to the most southern point of South Africa and my paragliding adventure at Lion’s Head. I also want to write a blog about my daily life in Genadendal. So be prepared.

It’s a pleasure to share my experiences with you all.

Till next time, love you all

Xoxo

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Vaitiare

My name is Vaitiare Jansen, I am 21 years and I'm studying nutrition and dietetics in the Netherlands. My moto of life is: Think Positively. Exercise Daily. Eat Healthy. Work Hard. Stay Strong. Worry Less. Dance More. Love Often and be Happy. #JustBeAloverOfLife

Actief sinds 25 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 223
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7322

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 10 December 2014

My internship in South Africa

Landen bezocht: