Internship and football in a township - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu Internship and football in a township - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Vaitiare Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

Internship and football in a township

Door: Vaitiare

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Vaitiare

23 Maart 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

Hello guys, is everything OK?

I’m doing very well. South Africa remains beautiful, because every day something wonderful happens.
I hope you enjoyed my last two posts, because my first two weeks were super fun. I have been pretty busy these last few weeks, but I have some great stories to tell again. I just want to tell you about my wild weekend in Cape Town and about my internship.

By the way, I have good news guys! My study has been approved by my supervisor, so now I can start my research. I’m going to work with children from 5 crèches in district Theewaterskloof. As follows you can read a summary of the assignment.

The study will be performed by (193) children between two and five years old at crèches in Genadendal, Greyton, Berea Ville and Voorstekraal. Anthropometric data of the children will be used to investigate the nutritional status of children. These data will be compared with the average values and guidelines of South Africa. In addition, observations will be performed on the crèches. We want to analyze the eating habits of children during the breakfast/ lunch time and during recess. The preparation of meals and type of product that they used will be also analyzed. The goal of the observation is to gain information about the eating habits of the children during school time and to establish an association between diet and body composition.

How cool is that???

I've been to the crèches a few times and I'm in love with them all. The kids are super cute and sweet.
The children sang a few songs for me and were very happy to see me.
Seeing them pray for the food and for safety was so nice and special because I was under the impression that they were faithful. In addition to fun stories, there are also those you would not want to hear. It is unfortunate and sad to hear how hard they have it. Once I even had to cry because the truth is very hard to accept.
It’s so sad to see them on Monday morning. Many children go to school starving because they have eaten almost nothing in the weekend. What I've heard is that parents spend all their money on drugs and alcohol, and let their children down.

I really do not know why people have to do things like that. I really want to do something for them. Sometimes I just want to give them money, but believe me, that’s not the solution. The parents will use the money for drugs and alcohol. I think if you want to change the world you need to look in the mirror and not try to be the hero, because people in need may not know otherwise.

I've seen and heard quite a lot and I’m so blessed to be the person I am. It’s really sad to see that others don’t have a choice and that children can not realize their dreams.

Life in a township is super hard. In the evening hours everyone must survive, because people want to eat and are looking for money. The children are not safe in their own house and their parents can’t help them. They only have to find the way to survive on their own. How sad is that??

It is so unfair that children have to suffer like that. The only two things that I can do is pray and try to improve their nutritional status through my research and health program.
So, keep your fingers crossed and keep me in your prayers.

A township can be very dangerous, but there are nice things too. An example of funny things that you can do in a township are:

Eat lunch at Lungi’s Bed & Breakfast in Khayelitsha. Lungi’s Bed and Breakfast is a nice hostel in a township, near Cape Town. People who like to spend a night in a township can stay there. I can promise you that you will have a nice experience there. The personnel are so nice and they are so open to help you. To get started, we got a tour in the township. It was so nice to walk among the inhabitants and especially the children. After that we went to a “Shebeen”. A shebeen is a kind of pub, were people can go for a drink or to dance. I just want to tell you something really funny.

There was a man who was drunk and he told everyone suddenly that he don’t like the white chicks but he likes me. I was so sleepy that my reaction was not appropriate. I said:

“Yeah, sure it is because I’m black, right?”

At that time, everyone was laughing at me and he was so under the influence of alcohol that he could not respond back. That was hilarious!

After that, we went to a flower shop. It was so nice there, because they sell flowers that are made of cans. How awesome is that?
There was a girl who has made one flower for us. Everyone looked so intently to what she was doing.
It's so nice to see how people will do anything to survive. I also have photos of the shop and the flowers, so enjoy it!

After our tour we went to the football field. We played soccer with the team of the township. It was so funny, we had our uniforms on and I think they really thought that we were a real team. However, we were so bad that finally all our opponents were boys of 13th years old. (hahah)
After missing two possible goals and after fall several times everyone heard a crazy brown lady screaming. Goalllllllllllllll!
Yeah it was me. I screamed ‘Goallllllllllllll’ with joy because I was waiting for that moment.

After telling you the funny parts of the day I need to tell you this one. We lost the game with a score of 7-8. Hahahah what a shame?
But it was a friendly game so everyone was happy at the end. We took photos with almost all the kids and they really enjoyed the day.
I’m sure that I want to go back for a new match and next time we will win!

That day we also went to the waterfront. If you like water and good music, you have to go there. We walked in the shopping mall and we eat some ice cream. After window shopping, we went to a nice restaurant. The service and the food weren't so good, but the atmosphere was super cozy.
It is so touristy there, that quantity of food is more important that the quality. However, there is live music and in the evening hours, you can dance and go for a walk under the stars. By the way, at the waterfront you can also take the best pictures of the Table Mountain. So I hope that your next stop is there.

The next day we went first to the “Boulders Penguin Colony”. The penguins are so cute. We took a lot of pictures and the scenery was so amazing. I can’t explain how nice it was. Boulders Penguin Colony is not an extraordinary activity, but if you are in Cape Town you have to go there; God made that place so awesome.
There are also tents that sell souvenirs. I bought two giraffes, which are so beautiful. They have bracelets, necklaces, bags, musical instruments and so much more. So just take your time and look for the best price. You can also talk about prices, because they just want to sell.

After that we drove to the Cape point. Our trip there wasn't so successful, because it was raining. I think we have learned our lesson. Always look at the weather forecast and don’t go on trip without an umbrella. After all I’m happy with that day, because I have pictures of the cape point when it was sunny and when it was raining.

Thanks for reading. I will post another story about my wild night in Cape Town so stay tuned!

Till the next post!

With love,

Me xoxo

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Vaitiare

My name is Vaitiare Jansen, I am 21 years and I'm studying nutrition and dietetics in the Netherlands. My moto of life is: Think Positively. Exercise Daily. Eat Healthy. Work Hard. Stay Strong. Worry Less. Dance More. Love Often and be Happy. #JustBeAloverOfLife

Actief sinds 25 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 217
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7324

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 10 December 2014

My internship in South Africa

Landen bezocht: